HME at Home: Pork Fried Rice

I have decided I would add a new section to HME as a little insight to my home life in the kitchen. Working as a chef from such a young age has been the best and worst thing I have done in my life. As much as I hate to say it my passion isn’t quite there anymore, to cook not to eat. I appreciate cuisines, I appreciate flavours and experimenting with them, but working in a kitchen and the rush of a busy service isn’t as exciting as it is exhausting as it use to be. I use to love the pressure of getting your section ready, now I am exhausted not only physically but emotionally and mentally. BUT in saying that, I love food experiences. I love the culture behind it, the atmosphere it creates and I also love the passion of other chefs that produce such amazing food. A lot of the time I become so inspired all I want to do is go home and spend a week cooking all the cuisines I can!

Lately I have been inspired to do more cooking at home for two reasons;

  1. Now that I am back living in a share house with people I want to hang out with, and people at home being plentiful, cooking doesn’t seem like a pointless task. Now I don’t have a lot of waste and having to eat the same thing three nights in a row.
  2. With my upcoming travels in sight I have been inspired to cook a little more at home and cook cultural things to get me excited and inspired to not end up going the tourist route.

12048808_10153337892479495_1334997922_n

Last week I was feeling Chinese, as it is a cuisine I had grown up on. Every second Sunday my mum would take us kids to my Grandpa’s house where a big spread of home cooked Chinese food, I loved those times. So I decided I would have a crack at my own fried rice. I let the house know and everyone enjoyed it a lot, the only thing wrong was the lack of left overs for seconds! This recipe has a great combination of sweet to the wok flavour. It is a quick and super easy recipe and a dish that could be used as a side or as a full meal. It is also something that you can keep up to 3 days in the fridge with just a zap in the microwave to heat up, or just eaten cold.

Serves 6

INGREDIENTS 

  • 8 Chinese Sausage
  • 4 cups Long Grain Rice
  • 400g Pork Loin, diced
  • 1 Red Capsicum, large diced
  • 2 Bok Choys, rough chopped
  • 2/3 Cup Pineapple Pieces
  • 1/2 Peas
  • 5 Eggs
  • 3 Tbsp Lee Kum Kee Char Siu Sauce
  • Sesame Oil
  • Soy Sauce (Optional)

METHOD

  1. In a bowl, place diced pork and char siu sauce, allow to marinade for at lease 20 minutes.
  2. Using either a pot or a rice cooker, cook the rice. If using a pot make sure you cook with a lid on. Place whole Chinese sausage on top of the rice. This will poach/steam the sausage and allow the rice to absorb the flavours.
  3. In a wok (a fry pan will do if you do not have a wok) pour a little bit of sesame oil and fry the marinaded pork, just not the marinade will be quick to burn so ensure you are always moving around. Alternatively, cook the pork first then stir the sauce throw one the pork is cooked in a seperate bowl.
  4. Take out Chinese sausage and chop into pieces.
  5. Add sausage, capsicums, pineapple and bok choy and toss through until cooked. In a large bowl put cooked ingredients in.
  6. Dry wipe the wok with paper towel then heat up a little sesame oil. Crack eggs into wok and scramble, ensuring you are always moving them so they don’t burn. Put in with other ingredients.
  7. Wipe wok again and season with sesame oil again. Add rice 1/4 of the rice and fry off. Once finished add to cooked ingredients. Continue until all rice is fried.
  8. Mix everything together with a touch of soy sauce, optional.
  9. Now serve and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

