5 Songs I Love Right Now

PicMonkey Collage

My prime time in discovering what is new in the music world is my very short time in the car to and from work as I listen to Triple J. It is there I use the most incredible app I have ever had, Shazam, to find out these songs I fall in love with at first listen.

**If you don’t have Shazam you best get to you Play store or iTunes store and download it! Not only are you able to find out the song that was playing whilst you browse the supermarket or while waiting in a doctors room, you can also see what is trending in ANY city around the whole world!

So here are 5 songs I really love at the moment!

  1. Return to the Moon (Political Song for Didi Bloome to Sing, with Crescendo) by EL VY

This song has such a catchy beat that goes superbly with a vocals, which was what actually attracted me to the song in the first place, as I thought it was a new song by a band I absolutely adore, which is The National. Although I was a little disappointed that it wasn’t a The National song, I was super SUPER stoked that it actually is a Matt Berninger song, in his new band EL VY, who he has joined forces with Brent Knopf of Menomena/Ramona Falls to create. What I love about The National is the songwriting and how cleverly they are written, the story telling aspect. This song is worth the listen, and maybe you will fall in love with it like I did!

2. Riva (Restart the Game) by Klingande and Broken Back

I absolutely loved Klingande‘s 2014 hit Jubel, which was THAT killer sax track. Recently when I was listening to Jubel I came across the 2015 track Riva (Restart the Game) with Broken Back. Both these tracks are such summer tracks, which is getting me pumped for this upcoming summer, although I feel like I should host a boat party just so I can party with this track. I am hoping Klingande releases some more tracks for a great summer!

3. Downtown by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis ft. Eric Nally, Melle Mel, Kool Moe Dee & Grandmaster Caz

This has to be more most favourite song at the moment and probably the most anticipated song of my 2015. I put Macklemore & Ryan Lewis‘ record The Heist directly into my favourite records of all time after the first time I listened to it. It was an album I could listen to from start to finish without having to skip a track, note, that is hard to come by. I have patiently been waiting for new music from this duo and they couldn’t have produced a better track! With a great combination of artists that emphasis the songs catchiness and vibe, this song will be on constant replay! It also has one of the best videos I have seen in a very long time! Maybe even since their 2012 hit Thrift Shop.

4. Weathered by Jack Garratt

I heard this on Triple J a few times but always missed my chance to find out what it was on the Shazam app, finally I got it and since finding it I have not been able to stop listening to it on a daily basis. The song has a perfect chill beginning with a great bass drum track, which shine on the lyrics and its meaning. I had a connection with the song straight away due to that combination of music and lyrics, then as the song evolves and becomes louder I still fall more and more in love with it! The intensity of the song builds to a point that sends chills down your spine! Absolutely brilliant! Jack Garratt is defiantly on my ‘look out for big and exciting thing’ list!

5. Never Ending Circles by Chvrches

This has been the record I have impatiently waiting for, impatiently meaning I scan the bands Facebook page WAITING for new music! This track was released before the record dropped only a couple days ago, and after hearing their first single Leave A Trace I wasn’t sure if there was going to be a better track on the album, BUT I was wrong and have decided THIS is the song I love the most. Chvrches is the best thing that has happened this year and one of the most up and coming bands to develop in the music scene! Never Ending Circles has an amazing composition that fits perfectly with the vocals and makes you fall in love instantly! Their new record Every Open Eye is out now!

What songs are you loving at the moment?

Leave a Reply

