The Bucket List

5

There are a million things I want to do before I die. Some involving adventure and exploration, some a bit more general and soul fulfilling. I am that kind of person who makes plans and never fulfils them, starts something but not see it through to the end…

I WANT TO CHANGE!

I am not dying, I am scared that I won’t tick enough off my list to be satisfied with the life I lived as I lay on my deathbed. I want to be able to tell the people I love of all my adventures and inspire them to do the same. I want to tell my grandchildren about my travels, about conquering fears, about falling in love and building something. That you don’t become rich with money, you become rich wth experience and things that become the building blocks of your soul, of yourself.

So this book will contain a bucket list, but not only a bucket list that I tick, it will become a story and something to look back on, but also continuously add to, and one day when I am old, I can pass it down as an heirloom.

So here I go…

This is dedicated to the people I love… past, present and future

Today I woke up from a great dream, about me travelling the world, and I found an empty hard case notepad. I had decided I would make a bucket list… longer than the one I had already had hanging on my wardrobe door.

Above is the first page of my notebook because I have a thing for writing my plans and intensions of every notebook I own. I don’t know why, I have alway done it. I guess in my mind I feel like one day these notebooks full of nonsense and scribble would mean something to someone. Maybe I’ll become famous and these pieces of paper will become pages in a memoirs. Who knows. As I dreamt about backpacking around the world getting involved with culture I woke up with an idea. The night before I spent hours searching the world wide web for inspiration of things I would like to do. Things ranging from wine tastings in France, canopy walks in South America, volcano trekking in Papua New Guinea and road tripping down route 66 in The States. I combined everything I felt the need to do and constructed a large list of things to do. I wanted to put this list in a notebook, handwritten because I like personal things like that, and as I tick these to-do items off I would write a paragraph or so of my experience. Luckily I gave myself a bit of a head start as 8 things were already ticked off.

The idea is that this book will be a prized possession to me as I want my life to mean something to future generations and I want to be that mum or grandma, or even great-grandma, that inspires. I never really had that growing up as my family aren’t that close, so I wanted to start something. I want to get to the end of my life and hand this book down so my stories can inspire others to live their life, follow their dreams and become rich with soul fulfilling experiences. I kind of regret not starting my wanderlust sooner and more frequent as some of my friends have done, but I am starting which is the main thing.

117 items are on my list and I would love to share them with you!

SKYDIVE/BUNGEE JUMP – OWN MY OWN BUSINESS – WATCH THE SUNSET IN 10+ COUNTRIES – VISIT BEETHOVEN’S GRAVE – RUN A MARATHON – PROFESSIONALLY RECORD A SONG – GO TO CANADA IN WINTER – VOLUNTEER IN VANUATU – SEE THE PYRAMIDS – HAVE A BON FIRE ON THE BEACH – BACKPACK THROUGH EUROPE – CREATE AND RUN AN INSPIRATIONAL EVENT – SEE THE NORTHERN LIGHTS IN ALASKA – ROAD TRIP NEW ZEALAND – GO TO THE GLACIA IN NEW ZEALAND – VOLUNTEER AT A CHILDREN’S HOSPITAL – SURPRISE MUM WITH A TRIP TO SOMEWHERE SHE LOVES (JUST ME AND HER) – STAND ON THE EDGE OF THE GRAND CANYON – FALL IN LOVE – PLAY AN ACOUSTIC SHOW – GO TO NASA – BUILD A HOUSE – TAKE A CULINARY TRIP THROUGH SOUTH AMERICA – WORK ON A SOUNDTRACK FOR A FILM – HAVE A WHITE CHRISTMAS – SKINNY DIP IN THE OCEAN – LINE DANCE IN AN AMERICAN BAR –  CREATE A MASTERPIECE – SKI IN THE SWISS ALPS –  GET LOST IN THE NEW YORK SUBWAY – MAKE A DIFFERENCE IN SOMEONES LIFE –  STAY OFF DRUGS – DINE IN AN ‘ILLEGAL’ RESTAURANT – GO TO A BULL RUN IN SPAIN – ATTEND HOLI FEST IN INDIA – GO TO THE CHRISTMAS MARKETS IN GERMANY – DRIVE ROUTE 66 – LEARN A LANGUAGE – COMPLETE A 1000 PIECE JIGSAW PUZZLE – ATTEND MARDI GRAIS – DRIVE A RACE CAR (OR RIDE IN ONE) – STAY IN AN ICE HOTEL – ATTEND RIO CARNIVAL IN BRAZIL – VISIT THE 7 WONDERS OF THE WORLD – CLIMB MT. EVEREST (OBVIOUSLY NOT TO THE TOP) – STAY IN THE EARTHSHIPS IN NEW MEXICO – SEND A MESSAGE IN A BOTTLE – PUBLISH A BOOK – ATTEND AN INDIAN WEDDING – JUMP OFF A CLIFF – LEARN ORIGAMI – BEFRIEND MY DAD – EAT 20 DIFFERENT ANIMALS – SAY ‘HELLO’ IN 25 DIFFERENT LANGUAGES – SLEEP IN A TEEPEE – DOG SLED – HOT AIR BALLOON – STARGAZE IN 10 DIFFERENT COUNTRIES – GO TO THE OPERA – LEARN TO UNICYCLE – MAKE A SNOW ANGEL/MAN – SEE A SALMON RUN – RIDE IN FIRST CLASS – SPEND A MONTH IN NEW ORLEANS – FIND THE BEST GUMBO IN THE WORLD – STOMP ON GRAPES – SEE CHERRY BLOSSOMS IN JAPAN – HOLD A MONKEY – ROAD TRIP THE OUTBACK – GO TO A BROADWAY SHOW – FLY A KITE – GO TO A NUDE BEACH… NUDE – WALK ON STILTS – GO TO A RODEO – GO TO A DRIVE-IN MOVIE – VISIT NIAGRA FALLS – CATCH UP WITH OLD BEST FRIENDS – LEARN POTTERY, MAKE A POT – BE IN A FOOD COMPETITION – CREATE HUMAN LIFE – LOOK FOR TRUFFLES IN CROATIA – VISIT VICTORIA FALLS – EXPLORE NEW YORK PROPERLY – LEARN TO SURF – ATTEND DAY OF THE DEAD IN MEXICO – DRIVE A ZAMBONI – GO ICE FISHING – SPEND TIME ON A YACHT – DRIVE TO FLORIDA KEYS – TREK IN CHILE – VISIT THE HIMALAYAS –  EXPERIENCE MONGOLIAN LIFE – TRAVEL ON TRANS-SIBERIA – HOLD A TARANTULA – PHOTOBOMB RANDOMS – DANCE ON A BAR – RIDE A CAMEL – ATTEND LA TOMATINA – GO TO THE JUNKYARDS IN HONG KONG –  SLEEP IN AN IGLOO – LEARN ABOUT WINE – WRITE MY NAME IN WET CEMENT – HAVE A PIG ROAST – GO TO THE GREAT WALL OF CHINA – GO ON SAFARI – BE INSPIRATIONAL – CREATE A WEBSERIES –  CREATE A MUSIC FESTIVAL – BE FEATURED IN AN ARTICLE – KAROKE IN JAPAN – TREK CAMBODIA, LAOS AND THAILAND – VISIT A VOLCANO – SNORKEL AT THE GREAT BARRIER OF REEF – BE A PART OF A FLASH MOB – LEARN TO SPANISH DANCE – ICE SKATE IN CENTRAL PARK – HOST A DINNER PARTY –

Untitled

It is quite a list and it makes me a little nervous that I won’t be able to get this all done in one lifetime! I guess the point of creating this notebook and handing it down is that hopefully it is enough inspiration for kids or grandkids or great-grandkids to finish my list. There are 8 ticked off already which are:

  • Ice skate in central park
  • Make a snow angel/man
  • Go to Canada in winter
  • Stand at the edge of the Grand Canyon
  • Go to a Broadway show
  • Go to NASA
  • Have a white Christmas
  • Get lost in the New York subway

I best get out of the house and start ticking things off! Only 109 thing to go!

Leave a Reply

